The Caribbean is a region that consists of the Caribbean Sea, its islands (some surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and some bordering both the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean and the surrounding coasts. The region is southeast of the Gulf of Mexico and the North American mainland, east of Central America, and north of South America.

• Includes: 13 independent countries; Two overseas territories and 12 dependent territories, most of which are related to the European Union
• Population: 43,601,839 (2016)
• Total area: 2,754,000 km2
• Languages: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, French Creole, English Creole, Haitian Creole, Caribbean Hindustani, among others.
• Time zone: UTC -5 to -4